Code of Practice March Consultation 2022

NAVA is hosting a one-hour conversation on environmental sustainability for our major revision of the Code of Practice.

Illustration by Emily Johnson.

NAVA invites you to join us for preliminary consultation on environmental sustainability, as part of a major revision of the Code of Practice, Wednesday 23 March 2022.

11am-12pm AWST, 12.30-1.30pm ACST, 1-2pm AEST, 1.30-2.30pm ACDT, 2-3pm AEDT

We invite Artist and Organisational Members, colleagues and stakeholders to contribute your experience and insight to these discussions. In the case of Organisational Members, you may like to share this invitation with different members of your teams based on their areas of expertise. 

This consultation will inform the development of a new section in the Code on best practice approaches to reduce environmental impact in the visual arts and craft and take action on climate change.

Please register your interest:

More information

Each session will open with short guest presentations about a project, an experience, or way of working, offering provocations for the conversation. We will break into small groups for focussed discussion and then come back to the main group to share our findings. 


Please note:

  • We will ask someone in each group to self-nominate to scribe the discussion and report back to the main group at the end.
  • This is a public discussion, not a debate. The purpose is to hear many points of view.
  • Everyone is encouraged to participate. 
  • No one or two individuals should dominate a discussion. If you have already voiced your ideas, let others have an opportunity. When you speak, be brief and to the point.
  • When you speak, state your name and occupation. 
  • One person speaks at a time. 
  • Listen to and respect other points of view.
  • Be as objective and fair-minded as you can be.
  • Seek first to understand, not to be understood. Ask questions to seek clarification when you don't understand the meaning of someone's comments.


Captioning and Auslan interpretation will be available.

The Code of Practice for the Professional Australian Visual Arts, Craft & Design Sector sets the national best practice standards for the sector, providing a set of practical and ethical guidelines for the conduct of business between art, craft and design practitioners and galleries, agents, dealers, retailers, buyers, sponsors and partners, commissioners, employers and the managers of residencies, workshops, competitions, prizes and awards, and more. For more details about its revision and for the outcomes of our last rounds of similar meetings, see Revising the Code of Practice: A collaborative plan

NAVA acknowledges and pays respects to the rightful custodians of the many First Nations Lands upon which this online event will be streamed and received. We recognise all Custodians of Country throughout all lands, waters and territories. We pay our respects to the Elders past, present and emerging. Sovereignty was never ceded.

Australia Council and Create NSW logos

This project has been assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council for the Arts, its arts funding and advisory body, and the NSW Government through Create NSW.

Code of Practice March Consultation 2022