Industry News September 2019

Latest industry news from the visual and media arts, craft and design sector, September 2019.

In the News

This month thousands of students and workers attended the global Climate Strike across Australia to declare a climate emergency. Approximately 350,000 attended strikes around Australia and 4 million across more than 150 countries. The strike included the attendance of many artists, arts workers and organisations.

In Awards & Prizes

Kelly Austin has received the 2019 National Still Life Award from Coffs Harbour Regional Gallery.

Michael Snape, Louise Paramor and Nadia Odlum have received the $30,000 Helen Lempriere Scholarships.

Rew Hanks has been awarded the Fremantle Arts Centre Print Award of $16,000.

Jahnne Pasco-White has received the $50,000 Arthur Guy Memorial Painting Prize.

Robert Ewing has received the Hazelhurst Art on Paper Award 2019. The Young & Early Career Artist award was awarded to Belem Lett. The Friends of Hazelhurst Local Artist Prize was awarded to Kerry Toomey and Paul Williams.

Printmaker Joel Wolter has been awarded the Peebles Print Prize 2019.

Hayley Millar-Baker has won the 2019 Darebin Art Prize of $10,000.

Nadia Hernández has received the $15,000 Churchie National Emerging Art Prize 2019. 

Artists Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran and Angela Tiatia have been named Sidney Myer Creative Fellows. Each artist will receive $160,000 over a two-year period.

Abdul Abdullah has received the $15,000 Australian Muslim Artists Art Prize 2019.

Angelica Mesiti has won the Advance Arts Award, recognising the outstanding achievement of Australians living and working around the world.

Edward Woodley has received the 2019 Stencil Art Prize.

Renee Cosgrave has been announced as recipient of the $20,000 MECCA M-Power NGV Arts Mentoring Program. 

The Ian Potter Cultural Trust congratulates the recipients awarded grants in the second funding round of 2019. The recipients of the grant in the visual arts are Ihab Balla, Channon Goodwin, and Nicholas Smith.

Diena Georgetti has won the $25,000 2019 Sunshine Coast Art Prize, the winning work will be acquired to be included in the Sunshine Coast Art Collection.

Jaq Grantford has won the $25,000 2019 Kennedy Art Prize. 

In Education

The National Advocates for Arts Education (NAAE) have called for politicians to launch a research based inquiry into the effectiveness of the implementation of the Australian Curriculum: The Arts.

In Organisations

CEO of Country Arts SA Steve Saffell is set to retire, following twenty-six years in the organisation. Country Arts SA are currently seeking an Chief Executive to lead and manage the organisation.


Terese Casu will be filling the new role of Head of Advancement at National Art School. 


Australia Council announced the results for its most recent grant round, which is said to include a significant amount of First Nations grant recipients. Read more here.


A new leadership structure for Create NSW has been announced. Annette Pitman will act as Head of Infrastructure. Alex Bowen will be Director of Partnerships and Policy. Sue Proctor will take the role of Director of Business Operations, Investment and Governance. The announcement also noted the departure of Craig Limkin and Elizabeth W. Scott from the organisation. 


MCA has announced two new Board members: Alan Joyce AC, and Dr Christine Evans


Tess Maunder has been appointed as Melbourne-based Manager of Vault Magazine. 


Técha Noble, Jason Phu and Aemmon Sheehan have been named as the first NSW-based participants of the Animal Logic Artist in Residence initiative.


SA Arts recently launched The Arts and Culture Plan South Australia 2019-2024. 


Australia Council has announced its Creativity Connects Us: 2019-2023 Corporate Plan.  


Melbourne Art Foundation has announced Emily Cormack as 2020 Melbourne Art Fair Artistic Director. 

In Galleries

Lucy Turnbull AO has been appointed to the Art Gallery of NSW Board.


Professor Larissa Behrendt has been appointed to the Board of the Australian Museum.


Robyn Gawenda has been announced as Executive Director of Footscray Community Arts Centre. Daniel Santangeli will also fill the role of Artistic Director. 


Shepparton Art Museum has announced Sarah Wall as a new Curator within the organisation.

In Festivals

The artists for the 22nd Biennale of Sydney, titled NIRIN have been announced. NIRIN is artist- and First Nations-led, presenting an expansive exhibition of contemporary art that connects local communities and global networks. Under the artistic direction of Brook Andrew, the exhibition will include artworks across six sites: Art Gallery of NSW, Artspace, Campbelltown Arts Centre, Cockatoo Island, Museum of Contemporary Art Australia and the National Art School. NIRIN will be open 14 March – 8 June 2020. See the full list of artists here.


HOBIENNALE has announced the festival dates for 2019, 15 – 23 November 2019. The festival will see 21 artist led organisation and cooperatives from around Australia and New Zealand come together to present the work of around 100 early career artists.


The artists for the 2020 Adelaide Biennial of Australian Art: Monster Theatres has been announced. The biennial will run from 29 February to 8 June at the Art Gallery of SA and Adelaide Botanic Gardens. See the full list of artists here.

Inside NAVA

This month, NAVA published a draft Pay Standards for Artists and Arts Workers. The draft sees revisions to the fees and wages in the Code of Practice, developed in 2001.