NSW Artists' Grant Recipients Announced

The last round of NSW Artists’ Grants sees a total of $12,500 shared between 10 artists.

Image: Consuelo Cavaniglia present distant, 2018, in The Theatre is Lying – Macfarlane Commission, installation view, ACCA, Melbourne, VIC. Photo by Christian Capurro.

The National Association for the Visual Arts and Create NSW are delighted to announce the recipients of the final NSW Artists’ Grant: Connie Anthes, Consuelo Cavaniglia, Matthew Hopkins and Biljana Jancic, EO Gill, Taloi Havini, Joanna Kambourian, Audrey Newtown, Alun Rhys Jones, Ghasan Saaid, and Marikit Santiago.

The NSW Artists’ Grant program was a NAVA initiative with devolved funding from Create NSW, an agency of the New South Wales Government. For more than 25 years, this program offered support via small grants for 40 NSW based artists and groups across four rounds a year.

Originally named the Marketing Grant Scheme for New South Wales Artists, the aim of this program was to assist professional visual artists and craftspeople in NSW to effectively produce, present and promote their work throughout NSW, interstate and overseas. With the introduction of the new Create NSW Arts & Cultural Funding Program, devolved funding arrangements such as those with organisations like NAVA are no longer offered.

Round four of the 2019 funding program sees a total of $12,500 shared between 10 individuals across the state.

NAVA Executive Director Esther Anatolitis said: “What an exciting range of programs for this final round of the NSW Artists’ Grant. NAVA has been proud to support around a thousand artists through this impactful program, thanks to our strong long-term relationship with Create NSW. I can’t wait to experience this work. I’d also like to thank every single one of the artists who’ve applied for a NSW Artists’ Grant over the years, as well as all of the NAVA staff who’ve offered expert advice to those many thousands of artists over the years.”

2019 Artists’ Grant Program (Round 4) recipients

Connie Anthes in collaboration with Julia Bavyka, will present ‘Soft Infrastructure’, at Tributary Projects, Canberra in February 2020.

Consuelo Cavaniglia, Matthew Hopkins and Biljana Jancic will undertake a new cross-disciplinary collaboration bringing together installation, optics, projection and sound in an exhibition at Knulp.

EO Gill will produce a new experimental short film ‘Cleave’, examining body, intimacy and touch with relation to gender. 

Taloi Havini will produce and artist's publication, examining the artist's practice as well as the significant political and cultural context of the region.

Joanna Kambourian will develop new work and exhibit in Armenia as part of a self-directed residency at NEST Artists in Residence program, Institute of Contemporary Art, Yerevan.

Audrey Newtown will participate in the Pilotenkueche International Residency Program, Leipzig, Germany from January to March 2020. 

Alun Rhys Jones will present a new body of creative work in the Bondi Pavilion Gallery titled “Male Man” during Mardi Gras 2020. 

Ghasan Saaid will develop an exhibition of four bodies of work dedicated to raising awareness in the community about Torture, Trauma and PTSD as well as helping transform emotional wounds into positivity.

Marikit Santiago will create a large-scale body of work anchored by fieldwork research with an exhibition outcome at 4A Centre for Contemporary Art in June 2020.