NAVA welcomes elected Board Members from four states

Media Release

(L) Sue-Lyn Aldrian Moyle, photo by Bohdan Warchomij; (R) Michelle Vine, photo by Heather Faulker.

The National Association for the Visual Arts (NAVA) welcomes newly elected Board Members Michelle Vine (Qld) and Sue-Lyn Aldrian Moyle (WA), and re-elected Board Members Rohin Kickett (WA), Lisa Radford (Vic) and Patrice Sharkey (SA), as the result of the recent Members’ ballot.

Michelle Vine, newly elected Artist Representative Board Member, is an artist, educator, and researcher whose practice explores sensory experience, disability, and wellbeing. 

 “I am honoured to be appointed to the board of NAVA. With the recent change in government this is indeed an exciting time to step into the role of Artist Representative Board Member,” said Michelle Vine. “I am passionate about making an active contribution to the improvement of career opportunities and working conditions of artists, especially for disabled artists. I will also ensure that the interests of Queensland-based artists are actively represented at the national level; and that important policy and advocacy discussions are widely inclusive to better represent the diversity of artists making vital contributions to Australia’s culture across the nation.”

Living in Meanjin (Brisbane), Michelle has actively practised as an artist for over a decade; prior to that she held senior management positions in the financial services and technology sectors. She brings to the NAVA Board a combination of business and governance skills, now applied to her thriving arts practice, along with lived experience of disability which informs her artworks and her advocacy for disability inclusion.

Sue-Lyn Aldrian Moyle, newly elected Organisation Representative Board Member, is an Australian Singaporean from Whadjuk Noongar Country, and is co-founder of the artist-led social enterprise Creative Collab. She works for the Aboriginal Art Centre Hub WA and John Curtin Gallery and volunteers with Australian Arts amidst COVID-19 and the City of Vincent Arts Advisory Panel.

“Having grown up overseas as a Third Culture Kid graciously hosted by other cultures, I believe in supporting an arts community that is receptive and wholeheartedly supports its diversity of people and practice. In this opportunity of being appointed to serve on NAVA’s board, I will advocate for artists’ voices to be recognised, and for their needs to be realised in ways that are equitable and sustainable.”

Re-elected Artist Representatives Rohin Kickett and Lisa Radford continue in their second term on the NAVA Board. Rohin Kickett is a Nyoongar artist from the Balardong region Western Australia. Rohin’s artworks are inspired by his family stories, and exploring the Balardong region. His artworks represent the Nyoongar region by aerial view landscapes in an abstract style, while also exploring alternative ways of mark making.

Lisa Radford uses conversation and correspondence as a way of exploring the shared space between images, place and people. More often than not she works with others, most recently with Sam George and Yhonnie Scarce but previously with TCB art inc. and as a member of the collective DAMP. Currently working in the Painting Department at the Victorian College of the Arts, University of Melbourne, she shares thoughts publicly and intermittently in The Saturday Paper.

Re-elected Organisation Representative Board Member, Patrice Sharkey continues in her second two year term on the NAVA Board as Deputy Chair. She is a curator, writer and arts worker who lives on Kaurna land in Adelaide. She is currently the Artistic Director of Adelaide Contemporary Experimental, South Australia's flagship contemporary art space, and was previously the Director of West Space in Melbourne (2015-2018).

At the AGM, NAVA farewelled elected artist Tom Mùller after a two year term and co-opted director Maria Farmer after reaching her maximum six year tenure on the Board. Tributes were also made to Genevieve Grieves who resigned from the role of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Director in October 2021 and Kathir Ponnusamy who had served as NAVA’s Treasurer for eight years.

"I would like to thank all of our departing Board members for their invaluable input and direction for our work, as well as their thoughtful insight and perspectives. NAVA is strengthened by all of their contributions," said Executive Director Penelope Benton. “I also thank all the nominees in this year’s election and the Members who voted. We extend a warm welcome to both Michelle and Sue-Lyn.”

The tenures of Michelle Vine and Sue-Lyn Aldrian Moyle began as of last week’s NAVA Annual General Meeting, Thursday 26 May 2022.

Media enquiries:

Leya Reid