EOIs open for Visual Arts Educators to join Community of Practice

NAVA welcomes Educators to a Community of Practice for strengthening secondary Visual Arts teaching and learning with industry best practice.

Image: Jacquie Manning 2022

ID: A group of people, photographed from above, are circled around printed graphic recordings by Sarah Firth from NAVA’s sector consultations for the Code revision.

Background

The National Association for the Visual Arts (NAVA) has begun work on developing a new curriculum-linked secondary school education program. The program encourages engagement with professional visual arts and craft practices and introduces students to the fundamental ideas, skills and understandings that support artists and arts workers throughout their careers

Over the past three years, a key part of NAVA’s work has been consulting with the visual arts,  craft and design sector to revise its Code of Practice for Visual Arts, Craft and Design (the Code). The Code outlines best practice to increase professionalism within the industry and will guide the ideas and issues that are explored in the education program. The revised Code will be launched in September 2022. Read about the revision here.

Professional practice is an essential part of learning in all secondary school visual arts curriculums that are taught in Australia. Embedding it in our teaching and learning is fundamental to building visual arts sector capacity and resilience. Members of the national Community of Practice will contribute to ensuring ethical and inclusive practices become the standard for future generations, making art a viable career path for young people beyond school.


About the community

Community objectives

  • Explore innovative approaches to strengthening visual arts teaching and learning with professional visual art practice.
  • Discuss approaches for the practical application and advocacy of the Code in visual arts and Design classrooms and schools.
  • Connect educators working across all visual arts curriculums in Australia to enable peer-to-peer professional learning among the group.
  • Share information and knowledge through open and transparent discussion.
  • Provide constructive feedback and advice on gaps in professional development and resources for visual arts and design educators.
  • Share and discuss developments in visual arts education research and advocacy.

Membership

Membership is voluntary and for a minimum term of one year, with monthly online video meetings. Members should be able to attend at least 75% of meetings. Professional learning certificates documenting a total of 24 hours will be provided to support members’ teacher registration or accreditation requirements.

Please see meeting times and dates at the bottom of this page.

Who are we looking for?

NAVA is seeking visual art educators from all states and territories, including those working in regional and remote communities, who enthusiastically support quality visual arts teaching and learning that is underpinned by contemporary visual arts practice. Members will be visual art educators working as secondary school teachers, gallery educators and curriculum designers at different career stages and with varied experience.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander educators are strongly encouraged to submit an EOI.

Alternative forms of EOI are also welcome. Please contact us if we can support your access to the EOI process.

How to express interest

Expressions of interest close
Monday 17 October

8:30am ACDT / 10:00 AEDT / 7.00am AWST/ 8:30am ACST / 9:00am AEST

Please send your EOI and direct any questions to

Alise Hardy

Education Coordinator, Schools

alise@visualarts.net.au

Your EOI should include:

  • An introductory letter outlining your interest in membership of the Community of Practice for Educators, your approach to teaching and learning industry good practices in visual arts and relevant expertise you can bring to the group.
  • A current CV
  • Phone contact and email


Next steps

EOIs will be reviewed quickly after closing. If we require further information, we may contact you by email or phone. Successful educators will be notified on Wednesday 2 November 2022.

Meeting dates and times

Meetings have been scheduled with the best intentions to include educators from all states and territories equitably.

Monday 5 December 2022

2-3pm AWST / 3:30-4:30pm ACST / 4-5pm AEST / 4:30-5:30pm ACDT / 5-6pm AEDT

Wednesday 25 January 2023

2-3pm AWST / 3:30-4:30pm ACST / 4-5pm AEST / 4:30-5:30pm ACDT / 5-6pm AEDT

Wednesday 22 February 2023

2-3pm AWST / 3:30-4:30pm ACST / 4-5pm AEST / 4:30-5:30pm ACDT / 5-6pm AEDT

Wednesday 22 March 2023

2-3pm AWST / 3:30-4:30pm ACST / 4-5pm AEST / 4:30-5:30pm ACDT / 5-6pm AEDT

Wednesday 26 April 2023

3-4pm AWST / 4:30-5:30 ACST / 5-6pm AEST

Wednesday 24 May 2023

3-4pm AWST / 4:30-5:30 ACST / 5-6pm AEST

Tuesday 20 June 2023

3-4pm AWST / 4:30-5:30 ACST / 5-6pm AEST

Tuesday 25 July 2023

3-4pm AWST / 4:30-5:30 ACST / 5-6pm AEST

Wednesday 23 August 2023

3-4pm AWST / 4:30-5:30 ACST / 5-6pm AEST

Thursday 14 September 2023

3-4pm AWST / 4:30-5:30 ACST / 5-6pm AEST

Wednesday 25 October 2023

2-3pm AWST / 3:30-4:30pm ACST / 4-5pm AEST / 4:30-5:30pm ACDT / 5-6pm AEDT

Wednesday 22 November 2023

2-3pm AWST / 3:30-4:30pm ACST / 4-5pm AEST / 4:30-5:30pm ACDT / 5-6pm AEDT

Interested but not ready to join a Community of Practice?

We want to hear from all visual arts educators. Complete our quick survey or contact Alise Hardy NAVA’s Education Coordinator, Schools at alise@visualarts.net.au .